30-day Photo Challenge, Days 9 and 10

Day 9: Someone you love

Plain and simple: Meredith.

One of the PREPs, great friend, lovely knitter/crochet-er, first visitor to this little apartment, math nerd, gardener, reader. Love her.

Day 10: Childhood memory

My best friend, Kelly, and I were big letter writers when we were kids. We met in second grade at church, and we were pretty much inseparable from the time we met. Kelly lived about 20 minutes away from me, and because this was before cell phones, before emails, before IM, before Facebook, letters were the best way to stay in touch. We wrote to each other a few times a week (even though we saw each other every week at church).  I have kept a lot of the letters we exchanged over the years, dating as far back as 1994, I believe. I keep them (along with other important letters and notes over the years) in a storage box that I hauled out for this Day 10 photo:

We wrote about everything and nothing; we made clip art letterhead; we sent pictures and puffy paint art stuck to looseleaf paper. One of our favorite things to do was decorate the backs of envelopes, and we had a favorite note for the postman:

It makes me feel a little bit sad that my children will never get to do this with their best friends. Everything will be instant and electronic, which is certainly more convenient, but it is also a little impersonal. Maybe I’ll start writing more letters.

Here’s the rest of the Flickr photos on the challenge.

White Peach Photography’s Day 9 and Day 10 photos.

Coming up tomorrow: Something blue.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “30-day Photo Challenge, Days 9 and 10

  1. Jane says:

    That Day 9 photo was sweeeeet, not that I am biased or anything. My girl has the best friends.

  2. Meredith K A says:

    I love you too! Had the best weekend ever. So happy.

Leave a Reply

