Apple Cheddar Scones

A few months ago, I saw this recipe for apple and cheddar scones from Smitten Kitchen, and was hooked with “October on a parchment-lined baking sheet”.  (I followed the recipe exactly, so I’m just linking to the recipe here.)

The best ingredient in this is the roasted apples.

You peel, core, and slice two apples, then cook them for about 20 minutes till they’re dry to the touch and sort of caramelized. They smell amazing as they’re baking. This would be a yummy way to make applesauce, don’t you think?

I had learned the hard way that the mixer attachments I have for my KitchenAid (the ‘burnished’ ones) are NOT dishwasher safe, so I was without mixer when I made these. Instead, I used the non-mixer method that Deb suggests. The mixer would make these much easier to make.

My dough turned out kind of wet…probably could have used more flour. I cut my scones into 12 pieces, instead of 6, and some of them got a little burnt, probably because they were smaller. Because my dough was so wet, I probably also should have just scored the round and cut them when baked, instead of breaking them apart while raw.

Regardless, they turned out pretty good! Definitely want to make these again.

Here’s the link again: Apple and Cheddar Scones from Smitten Kitchen

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Apple Cheddar Scones

  1. Eftychia says:

    What a delicious recipe. I never thought of doing anything similar before. Thanks for sharing!

  2. […] made the apple cheddar scones, but I just felt like I did something wrong and they didn’t turn out as well as they should […]

Leave a Reply

