Container Garden – Weeks 13/14

Instead of showing you the weekly progress of my plants (since they’re pretty much grown), I thought I’d start showing the vegetables I’ve been harvesting!

Two weeks ago, I picked three bell peppers, two tomatoes, and a bunch of serranos.

These tomatoes are so good!

With these veggies, I just made a simple pasta salad with small shells, garlic, olive oil, lemon zest, diced bell pepper, tomato, cucumber, green onions, salt, pepper, and a little parmesan cheese. Super easy and delicious, and really let the vegetables shine through.

Then last week, I had to stake my tomatoes a little more securely. They were completely drooped over the side of my porch, and unfortunately, when I picked them up, one of the stalks completely broke. It had two green tomatoes on it, too, so I figured I’d try my hand at fried green tomatoes instead of throwing them out.

Then, a few days later, I was able to pick one beautiful red tomato and several more serrano peppers. I’m going to make a lovely margherita pizza with the tomato and some of my prolific basil. Still not sure what to do with the serranos.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

