Container Garden, Week 5

Week five and my plants look like they’ve exploded! Per usual, my basil plant was quite full and I was able to pick another big bunch of leaves. Today, I was able to use them to fill out my batch of pesto I made last week (I accidentally used too little basil and too much garlic…whoops!). It turned out to be just the right amount to make the pesto delicious and not overwhelmingly garlicky.

My Serrano pepper plants fell over this week, and so I had to stake them. I didn’t realize I was going to have to do that for these plants, but luckily I had some stakes from last year’s tomato plant. In the picture above, it’s a little hard to tell, but the plants grew up from where they fell over, so all the leaves are pointed in one direction. I’m hoping that they’ll grow back the other way now that they’re up and supported.

My tomato plants are up to almost the top of the cages now! I have started to see some little buds too, and so I’m hoping this means I’ll start getting some flowers and tomatoes soon!

And there’s my little pepper plant – the leaves are huge, but it’s not very tall. I’m looking forward to seeing what this one will do. I think if it doesn’t grow more soon, I might look at repotting it.

I was away for the Memorial Day weekend, and luckily my plants weren’t too dry from the four days. We’re getting plenty of sunshine, and my plants seem very happy.

P.S. I’m a bit jealous of my friend Meredith’s new garden! She’s going to have a ton of great produce and herbs! Makes me want to add some new containers to my garden…

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Container Garden, Week 5

  1. Meredith says:

    Your plants look so awesome! You’re going to have tomatoes and peppers weeks before I do. And I can’t wait to have enough basil for a big batch of pesto, lucky you! Your container garden totally inspired me to get moving on mine, and gave me the idea for peppers…I hope we have some harvest to share by your July 4th party!

  2. Meredith says:

    PS: your little pepper plant doesn’t look at all like mine…it looks more like basil! What kind is it? (I will go back and look it up in your original garden post…) it looks very happy though, and also thank you for answering the question I asked myself as I was tying up my tomatoes on Sunday: I will now make sure to stake my pepper plants too.

Leave a Reply

