Container Garden, Weeks 1 & 2

Last weekend I finally got around to planting my little vegetable garden.  I ended up with 6 plants: 2 tomato, 1 green pepper, 2 serrano pepper, and 1 basil.  I had a few pots from last year’s failed tomato plant, but I needed some more supplies.  After a quick trip to Walmart, I returned with two giant bags of potting soil, a tomato cage, and those nifty pots that have a reservoir for water at the bottom.  Incidentally, I picked the hottest and most humid day in May to plant these plants, but it was well worth it, despite the copious amounts of sweat involved.

Newly planted vegetable plants

From front to back: green pepper, serrano peppers, tomato, tomato, basil on the table.

After throwing away the dead plants from last year (yes, I left them in the pots all winter) and wiping off the yellow dust coating everything, I not so carefully (note all the dirt that missed the pots in the photo above) potted and watered all of my little plants and arranged them so they’d get the maximum sun on my little courtyard-facing balcony.

I’m hoping to take weekly-ish photos of my little plants to track their progress.  Here they are, one week later:

Week 1 - 5/8/10

Plants, Week 1 - May 8, 2010

As a reference, here they were before they were planted:

Pre-planting

Before planting

I’m really looking forward to lots of little veggies this year….although I’m not sure what I’m going to do with all the serrano peppers.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

