Salmon with Spicy Fruit Salsa

My mom makes salmon (and other fish) very simply – a little salt, pepper, butter, lemon, baked in the oven, or sometimes marinated in some dressing and baked.  She and my dad eat fish a few times a week, and while I like her method, sometimes I want something a little more to go with it. I thought fruit salsa would be a nice contrast, so I looked up a few recipes. I wanted something pineapple based, and used this recipe as a base. I made a few tweaks, and it really adds a nice sweet-spicy zing to fish.  It would also be good with chicken, or on a burger, I think!

I got a nice piece of wild salmon and used Pastor Ryan’s method of cooking fish (via Pioneer Woman) to make my salmon and it turned out pretty well.  However, I would recommend using a lot less oil – I used 3 Tbsp of olive oil, and it was way too much for me – the fish was practically swimming in oil.  I also overcooked it just a bit, so the next time I would cook for a less than 8 minutes.  However, there was a nice crust, good texture, nice flavor.

Fruit salsa ingredientsWild SalmonSalmon with fruit salsa

Spicy Fruit Salsa

Adapted from allrecipes.com

Ingredients:
1 cup diced pineapple
1/4 cup minced shallot
1/4 tsp minced jalepeno or other hot pepper (or to taste)
3/4 cup diced banana (about 1 medium)
zest from one lime
zest from one orange
4 tsp lime juice (about 1 lime)
4 tbsp freshly squeezed orange juice (about 1 orange)

Mix and let marinate in fridge for 30 minutes or longer.  Serve with salmon, other fish, chicken, etc.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Salmon with Spicy Fruit Salsa

  1. Salmon and fruit…. great idea. Don’t think I would have ever put bananas and chillis together. Interesting combination.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

