Beginnings & Roasted Chicken

I have been wanting to start a blog for awhile now, inspired by The Pioneer Woman, Smitten Kitchen, one of my lovely PREPs, countless other blogs, and my new camera.  For awhile I was stymied by a lack of a blog name, and I’m a little bit unsure what I wanted this to be about. So bear with me as I figure out what I’m doing here…

For now, I’m starting with just posting some of the recipes I’ve made and photos I’ve taken over the last few months.

I like cooking and baking, and really enjoy having homemade suppers (not that I’m above takeout) and figuring out how to make things from scratch.  Recently, I’ve discovered how good roasting chicken & vegetables can be.  The first time I roasted a chicken, I used the Perfect Roast Chicken recipe from The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook, and seriously…it was perfect.

Vegetables tossed with olive oil, fresh rosemary, thyme, salt, pepper, chicken stuffed with lemon, garlic, onion, rosemary, thyme, salt, pepper, and rubbed with melted butter.  Chicken came out all golden and juicy, and roasted carrots…? YUM.

The second time didn’t turn out as well…I think it was because it was a weeknight, it was late, I didn’t have as much prep time.

So this weekend, I roasted some chicken thigh pieces, and it turned out wonderfully.  I made a rub of olive oil, lemon zest, fresh garlic, rosemary, thyme, salt, and pepper for the chicken, and tossed carrots, onions, and red potatoes with the same mixture.  I roasted it at 450 degrees for a little more than an hour till the chicken was done, and it was perfect – and so simple.

Roasted chicken thighs

Served with a squeeze of lemon over the vegetables and a biscuit.

Chicken with biscuit & lemon

(Sorry…I didn’t get any nice pictures of the full meal all plated and stuff…)

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

