Getting Crafty: For the Makers gift box fun!

This year, for Christmas with my PREP ladies, I bought us all a very cool little gift – a gift box from For the Makers. For the Makers is a subscription craft service where they send you a box each month with 4-5 crafts with all of the supplies you need (like Birchbox but for CRAFTS…awe-some). Very cool, and while I haven’t signed up for an official subscription, I loved that I could test drive with the gift boxes that were available in December. They were mini-versions of the regular box that included vintage beaded heart shoe clips, glitter ornaments, and an awesome little leather pouchette.

I finally got around to breaking out the box and put together the pouchette and shoe clips yesterday. AND, since I don’t have a job and can therefore browse Pinterest endlessly, I also found this cool tutorial for painting leather. It was the perfect way to spice up my little pouchette, and I love it!

I did a lot of test painting on my leather, and ended up not using the white base coat for mine – I just mixed a little water into my colored paint. I wanted it to have a slightly more worn-in feel, so this worked out great. I also had really light leather, and it wasn’t as important for the color to pop as much against the leather, so the technique you use  kind of just depends on what look you want and what you’re working with.

Here are the paints I used. I wasn’t sure what kind of sealer to use, so I just went with this Krylon Satin Finish spray, and it looks great and hopefully will hold up. It was also good because I accidentally picked up a glossy acrylic paint, and the spray made it a little more matte so it matches the non-treated leather a little better.

I love this – it’s the perfect size to fit my cell phone, and so hopefully I can use it as a grab and go kind of thing. I’m also thinking about sealing the envelope edges to make it a bit more secure for credit cards & ID – but we’ll see how this works out for now!

The shoe clips are also adorable – can’t wait to wear them out on these wedges! Apparently, they’re also one of a kind vintage hearts, which makes them even better. Too bad I didn’t make them in time for St. Patrick’s day.

It was so great – For the Makers provided everything I needed to put these together (including a needle) except the Tacky Glue and scissors. And, btw, I hadn’t used Tacky Glue since I was a kid. Instantly, memories of gluing yarn and pom poms to construction paper came flooding back, and I was happy to feel like an 8-year-old again.

Overall, I am really happy with my little box, and it has inspired me to start being more crafty! I have tons of supplies and fabric and ideas floating around, but motivation is definitely the hardest part.

Here’s to crafting!

3 thoughts on “Getting Crafty: For the Makers gift box fun!

  1. U generated several outstanding tips in your blog post, “Getting Crafty:
    For the Makers gift box fun! | Rachel Makes, Rachel Bakes”.

    I’ll wind up heading back to your website before long. Thank you -Beatris

  2. “Getting Crafty: For the Makers gift box fun! | Rachel Makes, Rachel Bakes” encoms was in fact honestly compelling and helpful!
    In todays world honestly, that is tricky to do.
    Thank you, Malinda

  3. Monica says:

    Where exactly did you actually get the tips to write Motorized Blinds “Getting Crafty: For the Makers gift box fun!
    | Rachel Makes, Rachel Bakes”? Thanks a lot -Felica

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

