On quitting my job / Resolution updates

Five years and three months ago, I quit my job and moved from Dillsburg, Pennsylvania to Cary, North Carolina. I had graduated from college the previous year, was living at home and was working at a small advertising agency. I had been there for a little over a year, and realized it was time to move out of my parents’ house. I quit my job and picked up and moved to NC without a job but with my friend, Ginny, and some savings. For two weeks, I settled in and tried to learn my way around a completely new area without a GPS (for me, this was pretty terrifying). Then I buckled down and started the job search. By January 2007, I had found a job at Centerline.

Two weeks and four days ago, I put in my two weeks’ notice for my job. My last day was this past Friday. It was a tough decision, but one that was a long time coming. After five years at Centerline, I was ready to move on. I just didn’t (and don’t) know to what. I don’t have a job lined up, and I don’t know what will happen in the next few months. What I do know is that: I have an amazingly supportive boyfriend; I am giving myself two weeks to relax and decompress, then I’m going on an amazing two week trip to the Galapagos Islands with my mom; I will bake and cook (and hopefully blog and probably watch TV) a lot.

Five years ago, I didn’t know what the 370-mile move down south would hold for me, but I trusted that it would all work out for the best. And it has, absolutely.

Now, I am again trusting that it will all work out for the best. And I’m so excited about it.

And now for my new year’s resolution updates…here’s how I’m doing so far.

  1. Blog more & take more pictures. Already posted twice this month…seems better than before, but this will be a constant work in progress.
  2. Make croissants (this seems like a great place to start).
  3. Make hollandaise sauce and master poached eggs. I did poach eggs for the first time on Sunday (1/29), and they turned out pretty well, but I don’t think I’ve mastered it yet.
  4. Try the Baked brownie recipe. I tried the caramel version from their Baked: Explorations book, and it didn’t really turn out well for me. So I want to try their basic recipe now and see if they turn out better.
  5. Make homemade vanilla extract.
  6. Use my cookbooks more.
  7. Use food from my pantry instead of spending so much on groceries, and wasting food that goes bad. I’ve pulled several meals out of the freezer to eat, and yesterday, I made egg casseroles in muffin tins for Kevin’s and my breakfasts, using all things I had on hand/were about to go bad. Recipes to come. I could definitely still work on this, though.
  8. Use my crockpot more. Here’s a good inspiration.
  9. Make doughnuts, using my new doughnut pan! I tried this recipe, and they were good, although not quite like traditional doughnuts. I’m looking forward to trying some other recipes.
  10. Update my blog header and/or template. I’m trying out a new template in WordPress, but while I like it, I don’t like like it. I’m considering purchasing my own domain and moving to a self-hosted blog (with Kevin’s help in the setting up and design department), so I’ll stick with this for now.
While I am working on some of these, I think it’s time to step up my game a bit more, especially now that I have all this free time.
Tagged , ,

One thought on “On quitting my job / Resolution updates

  1. Kristen Masotto says:

    I’m so excited for you! Too many people remain trapped in a job/life that they do not enjoy…kudos to you for having the courage, integrity, and determination to find happiness in your life’s work. Thoreau and his counterparts would be very proud of you indeed. Love you! xo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

